Around the World Challenge #7 – Did We Succeed?

fm_2016-12-26_10-13-26

I was really glad when my star striker got his first cap for the UAE in a friendly. I was even more proud when he was called up for the West Asian Football Federation Championship (WAFF). He did not do too well in his two appearances for the country though. Technically, he made a sub appearance as a right winger followed by a full 90-min one at his preferred position.

Then, this occurred when the January transfer window arrived.

fm_2016-12-26_15-41-50

I was absolutely livid. The board did not want to give the option for me to protest his transfer as I already did for one of my best youth prospects in my previous post. Absolutely devastating. In a few days (in-game), he was back in the top division. Luckily for us, I had a highly coveted prospect that could play as a striker as well.

Then, came a surprise job offer from the football association of the UAE. I was never a fan of international football management though, so I immediately declined the offer.fm_2016-12-26_16-57-34

With five games left to play, I secured promotion back to the top division.

fm_2016-12-26_17-20-17

I decided to holiday the last five games as I was sure that I could secure the title and meet the board’s expectations.

And I did. The title was secured on the next game, where we drew 0-0 with Al-Fujairah.fm_2016-12-26_17-30-39

fm_2016-12-26_17-31-58

fm_2016-12-26_17-32-14

We were well ahead of the rest of the league with a 18-point gap to our nearest rival, Al-Arabi. Surprisingly, our other potential promotion contender, Ajman ended up only fifth.

That particular prospect, Sultan Ahmed managed to scored 16 goals in the second half of the season alone. Even before the season had started, The Pro League clubs were already after his signature but they never got to do so as I wanted to use him on loan for this season if he had signed for them.

They will be onto him again next season.

fm_2016-12-26_17-38-20

Unfortunately, I would not be able to see his future unfold. After 1-and-a-half seasons in charge of the club, it was time to move on to the next country on the list.fm_2016-12-26_17-35-18

Next Stop: Gibraltar!

Shameless Plug: Check out the TheManagersCorner! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff. :^)

Leave a Reply

