#FM17 Around the World Challenge #15 – Short Trip to Samoa!

After resigning from Nadroga FC, I thought I would get a job in Samoa pretty easily since their schedule is similar to Fiji. Turns out I was wrong. Very wrong.

In fact, I had to wait for an entire year before I could manage to get an interview with Apia Youth. This database is kind of infuriating for me at this point.

fm_2017-01-22_19-35-11

According to the list (excluding Armenia), Samoa is my fifth country to manage in.

In this league, all the clubs operate on an amateur level. Apparently, there’s a real lack of publicity of this league. It was very difficult to find a cover picture for this post and the Soccerway entry for this league was 7 years old!

fm_2017-01-22_19-41-11
Not the best facilities…

The league was already over by the time I got here, they managed to improve on their 12th place finish in 2021 with an 8th one this season. Somehow they finished 2nd in the 2020 Season!

fm_2017-01-22_19-41-33

Samoa Cup 2022

My sole focus was now on the Samoa Cup. Let’s see what the board’s expectations of it…

fm_2017-01-22_19-44-12

Lofty ambitions. Well, we’ll have to do extremely well to get to the final. But, it seems that  cup miracles do exist, at least for now.

fm_2017-01-27_06-18-41

When I came in, the team had lost the first match 2-0, we went on an unbeaten streak for the rest of the games. With a bit of luck, we managed to qualify as the second-placed team of the group!

fm_2017-01-27_06-17-06

Vaitoloa SC, Lupe and Moaula United had also qualified for the semi-finals.

fm_2017-01-22_20-01-04

Semi-Finals

fm_2017-01-22_20-01-28

We were then up against Vaitoloa in the semi-final. I thought it would be pretty close since they only finished one place below us in the league.

Oh how wrong I was.

fm_2017-01-22_20-04-56

We had drawn first blood but then they somehow managed to turn it into a rout for themselves. Very disappointed but again, it was a miracle that we even managed to reach here in the first place.Hopefully, the board did not make a meal of my “failure” to reach the final.

Best Players

The club had an extremely large squad; with the under-20s, we had over 40 players on the books!

Here are the best players according to my assistant manager…

fm_2017-01-22_19-41-58

Extremely slow acceleration but definitely a decent defensive midfielder

fm_2017-01-22_19-42-10

Poor workrate for a winger but his pace and acceleration is decent, together with his crossing.

fm_2017-01-22_19-42-27

Not one to overlap, but he’s a quick one for sure.

In the next post, I will talk about the extremely long preseason and our performance in next year’s  league and  FA cup!


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 189 Updates by claassen . It does have more nations to choose from than the version that I have for this save.

Also, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

