#FM17 Around the World Challenge #18 – January Transfers and Relegation Battle

fm_2017-02-03_21-31-20fm_2017-02-03_21-34-53

Remember when I said that I only had one (unnatural) striker?  This was the tactic I had to used before the transfer window came in.

January Transfer Window

fm_2017-02-05_00-29-59

I thought I needed to inject a little fun to this save, so I signed a player from my country (Singapore) that happened to play for a semi-professional club in the National Football League (Singapore). As I found shortly after the window closed, he wasn’t that good. His poor jumping reach probably was a huge factor in that.

Mastrou was signed as a backup after my first-choice keeper got injured during the window.

I also signed a Portuguese striker on loan from Academica as apparently, Cyprus has close ties with Portugal. He did well in his first match against top division side, Omonoia in a cup match but  I immediately terminated his loan  soon after. Why?

Read on to find the answer.

Youth Intake

I thought I just put up a screenshot of the youth intake for this season. I usually sign people with either above 3.5* Potential or at least 1 star ability. For this intake, I only signed three of them (Christou, Markridis, Konstantinou (the striker that is)).

fm_2017-02-05_00-45-51

The rest of the players had their trials terminated immediately.

Cypriot Cup

I did not think I had a chance against Omonoia but over the two legs, we gave them a good fight and were probably unlucky to draw the second leg.

fm_2017-02-05_00-33-07

Marcelino here made his debut in the first leg and actually scored the only goal of the game but ended up getting injured for the rest of the season. So, I had to bring in another replacement (Fernandes) who did not do as well in his few appearances for the club.

fm_2017-02-05_00-30-30

League Fixtures

fm_2017-02-05_01-10-55

By the last matchday, we were barely out of the relegation zone by a point. Lose again and that would be my second sacking in two seasons.

Here was the tactic I used against ENAD(away):

fm_2017-02-05_01-06-03

And how did we do?

fm_2017-02-05_01-09-26

We dominated the match but somehow allow ENAD to equalise in the dying minutes of the match. I was initially livid as I thought that had cost me my job but when I saw the screenshot above, I could not believe it. Digenis had barely escaped from the clutches of relegation.

fm_2017-02-05_01-11-19

Luckily, Chalkanoras lost their last match. It was very close though!

fm_2017-02-05_01-33-43

Our best player was a center back, Panagi. He had been ever-present in the starting 11 and performed really well over the two legs of the Cypriot Cup against a first division side.

fm_2017-02-05_01-33-04

As I fast forwarded to the boring preseason, it seems that a lot of people like to watch second division matches in Cyprus.

fm_2017-02-05_01-59-16

I had other ideas though; in fact, I was already planning to move on from this club.

Qatar was next on the list but since I technically had not finished a season here in Cyprus, this forced me into a dilemma…

Where will I go next?


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 200 Updates by claassen . The one in the link does have more nations to choose from than the one in the save.

To get more hairstyles for the regens, try Debski’s World of Hairstyles !

Also, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

