#FM17 Around the World Challenge #22 – Round 2?

I decided to stay at the club for one more season as I wanted to see if I could improve on a fifth-placed finish. And the fact that there was no job in my next stop (Solomon Islands)… yet
First, I would have to go through the dreaded summer break that can only be ended by the power of the spacebar. And before I knew it, the second preseason was about to begin.

Staff Changes

I decided to extend my scouting department by hiring scouts that have knowledge from elsewhere. Here’s the list of the scouts that I have recruited:

I also had to replace my assistant manager as he did not want to renew his contract. I signed this guy as one of the foreign players and assistant manager. His staff attributes can be found here.

fm_2017-02-19_15-46-31

After Podesta was poached by Al-Shahniya as their new manager, I signed his replacement from France.

Finally, we signed another coach from Fiji of all places!

Transfers

As mentioned in the previous post, I have extended Freeman’s loan to the end of this season. I also bought Usui permanently from Crystal Palace for around 300 hundred thousand pounds.

fm_2017-02-19_15-46-48

In

Other than Leventis, we also brought Angel from Qatar SC, albeit on huge wages. He brings a wealth of international experience but so far, he isn’t doing too well. If this continues, I might even sell him in the next transfer window.

fm_2017-02-19_15-46-57

Rashidov was signed as a under-19s coach and a back-up for main striker Diaby. Just like Angel, he has failed to make an impression so far in his three starts. So much for experience these days…fm_2017-02-19_15-47-20

This was also another gamble, as we signed Al-Thani from Al-Khor for 215 thousand pounds! At least he’s doing somewhat better than Angel. His jumping reach catches my eye as he is already that tall.

fm_2017-02-19_15-49-31
We also signed two youngsters from abroad, Owusu from Nigeria and Min-Chul from South Korea. I’ll be playing them in the 2nd team until they are able to obtain Qatari Citizenship so that I can promote them to the first team. Of course, I’ll probably be moving on before that even happens.

Out

First, we released a few players as I did not want to renew their contracts. This group included Mario De Silva, who was a waste of 40 thousand pounds as I realised that I did not need wingers in my tactic.

I also sold a few backup players for money and sent Nasser Al-Shammari on loan to Al-Markhiya.

Friendlies

fm_2017-02-19_14-29-16

I would say that we had a good preseason. We mostly played against teams from Bahrain, with the only blip being the 2-3 loss to Al-Njoom from Saudi Arabia.

Poor Start
fm_2017-02-19_15-52-15

Doesn’t look good, does it? With Greg Freeman still injured from preseason, our tactic now looks vulnerable as most of our midfielders, with the exception of Pangop, can’t really mark or tackle players. So, countering would be difficult without someone that can win the ball!

With a poor start to the season, have I messed up big time or is just the fact that the other clubs have gotten stronger this season? Does the tactic even work anymore? We will just have to find out in the next post.


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 200 Updates by claassen . The one in the link does have more nations to choose from than the one in the save.

To get more hairstyles for the regens, try Debski’s World of Hairstyles !

Finally, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

