#FM17 Around the World Challenge #28 – Extended Surfing Trip

Tahiti was the 9th stop in this save (excluding Armenia, who has been moved to the bottom of the list). Despite being in the same “continent” as the Solomon Islands, the travel time was the least of my problems. I had to wait four months in-game before a club from the tiny nation would offer me a job interview. If this were to happen in real life, any hotel that would have accommodated me would be furious at my extended stay. At this point though, the money I’m paying them would mute their anger.

fm_2017-02-27_16-23-21

Once again, I’m  taking control of a club that is expected to relish the relegation battle this season.fm_2017-02-27_16-23-45

The club was a slight improvement from my previous employers. They had many bouts of success as recent as last year(2026). The facilities are similar, poor throughout.fm_2017-02-27_17-49-47

Unlike my previous employers, they do operate on a semi-professional level, which means I could also offer non-contracts to players as well. At the time of writing, half of our squad were on a non-contract basis. The wage budget that I was given was quite a lot; we barely used much of 11 thousand British pounds in the budget. We even have a “respectable” transfer budget!

With the introduction out of the way, it was time to walk into the dressing room and have my first meeting with my squad.

Squad

At a glance, we really lack quality in all departments.  Good thing was that most of the players have “good” personalities. We also do not have a natural left-winger, which would be our first target in the transfer window. Improving the depth of this squad would come next.fm_2017-02-28_20-52-22

The under-20s did not have any real prospects and I had no intention of using them in my plans this season.

Best players

This were the three players that were picked out by my assistant manager as the best in the team.

fm_2017-02-28_21-03-21

For an ambidextrous attacking midfielder,  Thomas is a great technical player for this level. His physicals are pretty shocking though. He will be muscled off by stronger players with a strength of just 5. He is not that quick either. His tendency to play shots is weird, considering his weak finishing. Still, he is a leader to the rest of the squad and will be most likely be the captain this season.
fm_2017-02-28_21-03-42

Then, we have Esteban which is a weird name for a French-speaking country like Tahiti. An agile winger, he is also two-footed just like Thomas. His technique and first touch ain’t the best but I always prefer wingers to use their pace to beat defenders and get to the right areas first. His player trait somewhat complements my intended tactic as well.

fm_2017-02-28_21-03-57

Finally, we have Corentin, who is most likely going to play upfront as a lone striker. His strength is his finishing. His passing does deter me from playing him as an advanced forward. To play him as a poacher, I need to overlook his poor first touch and concentration. I will have to experiment in the upcoming friendlies to get the best (or worst) of him.

Season Expectations

Despite finishing a strong 5th last season, the previous managed decided to leave the club without a fitting reason. Hence, it was up to me to carry the mantle and maintain the club’s stature in the top flight.

The media were not as bullish though.

fm_2017-02-28_20-54-42

For me personally, I would like the team to match their finish last season or even challenge the top teams for the Oceania Champions League. Ambitious, I know, but if we pull off the impossible, I might stay here for another season to lead the team on the continental stage!

For the Tahiti Cup, the board expects us to “be competitive” and I more or less agree with them. Lately, I have done a few good cup runs  and I look forward to write “another cup fairy tale” here.

With that, it’s time to get ready  for preseason. Stay tuned for the next post where I show (any) new signings from the transfer window and describe our performance in the friendlies!


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 200 Updates by claassen . The one in the link does have more nations to choose from than the one in the save.

To put a face to real-life players, get the DF11 Megapack!

To get more hairstyles for the regens, try Debski’s World of Hairstyles !

The skin I used for FM17 is the CFM V0.7.

Finally, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

One thought on “#FM17 Around the World Challenge #28 – Extended Surfing Trip

Leave a Reply

