#FM17 Around the World Challenge #29 – Prepping Up

Disclaimer: This is the first post in which gameplay was done in the new patch, 17.3 . Also, looking at the recent changes to the add-on, it seemed that claassen had made quite a few changes. Some might think this save had lost some integrity since it is running a very outdated version of the add-on. Don’t worry, I’ll press on for the time being. With that, back to our adventure.

Transfer Window

Apparently, when I joined, I only had a few days to improve the squad. This was a far cry from the transfer window in the Solomon Islands, which if you had read from #26, that started way after the league there had started.

At least I had a bigger pool of players to look through, including unattached ones.

There were already two new signings when I joined: Corentin(One of the players I profiled in the previous post and Nicolas.

In general, I wanted a squad with a high work rate and teamwork. All signings, bar one, have these two key stats(at least 10 work rate and 10 teamwork).

First on our shopping list were central midfielders as we only had two in the squad. I managed to sign two more to complement them.

  • Cyrille Nöel – I thought we should add a bit of steel to the attacking-minded midfield and Cyrille, for me, fits that criteria. Not the best marking or heading but he’s quick for a ball-winning midfielder. The two key stats are a huge plus as well.
  • Aaron Misbini –  This was a first for me. Just before the end of the transfer windows, I found a few Solomon Islanders in my scouting tab. Somehow, despite the league being removed, my weakening knowledge of the players meant that some of the players were willing to play in Tahiti on a non-contact basis. I had the idea of signing a couple from my old club but ended up getting Aaron on board the team. He will be act as backup for Nöel.

Next,we needed some left wingers as we had none.

  • Julien Larrouy – His physical stats are pretty weird for a winger (13 jumping reach!). His crossing and corner-taking stands out and can also potentially play on the right side since he is “very strong” with his right foot.
  • Davy Leroy –  This guy was signed on loan not because of his attributes. It’s his looks. Just look at this portrait of him. Never in my life have I seen such a regen like that. He’ll probably play the odd game or too, unless he gets angry  due to the lack of playing time. Here’s hopping Julien can perform consistently…

Finally, we signed Brice Favrey, a full-back that can play on both sides of the field but I will most likely play him as a left-back as he is a left-footer and the fact that we did not have much quality in the position.

For the outs, other than the ones that the previous manager had let go, I released the third-choice keeper as well. He doesn’t even need a screenshot; he was that irrelevant to me.

Tactics

Similar to my previous tactic that I used in the Solomon Islands, I only use a few instructions for this tactic.

fm_2017-03-07_03-27-53

It is similar to a 4-4-2, just that the wingers are pushed up to support the attack more and the midfielders would interchange in terms of who pushes up the field further than the other. I have also instructed the wingers to float their crosses so that Fenuati, our target man will flick the ball to Corentin, who will be the guy that will score the goals (I hope) .

Friendlies

fm_2017-03-07_04-07-54

It seemed pretty smooth sailing until the last two friendlies. I could understand a narrow loss to our supposed relegation rivals this season but the loss against Roniu should not have happened. A very good excuse would be that a few of my players were on international duty. Another would be my assistant manager’s great idea to play a mixture of under-20s and reserve players.

I think the tactic will hold up for the time being.

Anyway, it was time to kick off the league but you guys will have to wait until the next post to find out how we did for (at least) the first half of it.


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 208 Updates by claassen . The one in the link does have more nations to choose from than the one in the save.

To put a face to real-life players, get the DF11 Megapack!

To get more hairstyles for the regens, try Debski’s World of Hairstyles !

The skin I used for FM17 is the CFM V0.7.

Finally, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where aspiring FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

