#FM17 Around the World Challenge #35 – A New Dawn

If you haven’t read #34, click here

After (narrowly) avoiding relegation last season, it was time for the players to recharge before going into the first phase of a brand new season – preseason. It also gave me time to look through the squad and list down the players I need to improve it.

But first, I just want to touch on the two new senior affiliates that I had secured last season.

Basically, they are crap.

FC Lugano had no free players to loan me. In fact, they still wanted me to pay some of their players’ wages if I had wanted to loan them.

On the other hand, the French Club did have players that can be loaned to us for free but those players were not the ones I needed.

Hence, it was time to make use of our newly upgraded scouting system.

Transfers

If you had read my latest off-beat post, I said that “a lot has happened” in the transfer window. And I wasn’t lying. So much that I had to separate this section of the post in two. I hadn’t done this format in a while!

In

Initially, I was overwhelmed by the options in the scouting screen. I think that this was the longest time I had ever taken to sign/sold players in this save (so far).

So, I took a look at my home country(Singapore) and noticed their two ‘top’ players were unattached.

And I signed them.

fm_2017-04-01_05-55-02

Perry will probably challenge our ‘best center-back’, Anarbek,  and Balan for the first team places. Has decent stats for this level and his work rate is a plus!fm_2017-04-01_05-55-30

The other is O’Nien. He’s a versatile player but I will primarily play him as a defensive midfielder, although he’s a bit slow to carry out the ball-winning midfielder role. His wages are also on the heavy side for a 34-year old.

My next signing came in only a week later in-game but a few days in real life. Modic here will be our new first-choice left-back, freeing Anarbek to finally play in his preferred position.

That is, if Anarbek bothers to renew his contract. He still does not like the strength of our midfield (At the time of writing)

fm_2017-04-02_10-03-40

Also, with our strikerforce depleted by the bigger clubs, we needed to bring replacements. I went all over Africa this time to find this guy.

fm_2017-04-05_06-08-33

Patrick will be leading the line this season with Lyubenov. Already an under-20 international for Nigeria, he has immense pace and great finishing.  His personality is a bonus as well.  Best of all, I did not have to pay a single cent (Except for agent fees).

Out

To sum it up, the top clubs really like to steal the best players from the smaller ones.

It wasn’t long before some of my players were sold off.

After failing to extend the loan of our top striker, Stuparevic was poised to take over but when Astana offered me a huge sum of money, I could not resist the prospect of making profit.

fm_2017-04-01_05-57-13

The other major sale was midfielder Dinev, who also joined Astana for £120,000.

Then, Our backup goalkeeper came under scrutiny from the big clubs as well. The problem was: I thought he wasn’t that great.

So, I rejected their bids a few times until I gave in and negotiated with them.

And you know what’s the funny thing about this transfer?

He was from Aktobe. But now, the club had bought him for money (bizarrely).

Profit.

fm_2017-04-02_10-22-24

We sold a few other players but since they were all crap, they do not deserved to be mentioned at all.

At the time of writing, we have yet to play our friendlies. Since this post is getting a bit long for my liking, I’m going to stop it here for now. But, I will summarise our performance in the friendlies and play the first league match ‘live’ in a new video post. Until then, stay tuned!


The database I used for this save is the  FM17 Megapack 210 Updates by claassen . The one in the link does have more nations to choose from than the one in the save.

To put a face to real-life players, get the DF11 Megapack!

To get more hairstyles for the regens, try Debski’s World of Hairstyles !

The skin I used for FM17 is the CFM v1.0.

Finally, check out the TheManagersCorner on Reddit! It’s where  FM content creators, like me,  “dump” their stuff; from blog posts to YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

